Made me cry….

So after I got back home from the weekend I sat down and watched Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution. I had recorded both episodes and was so excited to watch, after hearing all the tweets and talk about it. I have a passion for health as you know by reading my posts. I also have a passion for my children’s health as I am very strict on their eating medications etc. Do they get to have things other than organic, yes. Have they had a chicken nugget, no. But to the point.

I was excited to see the family get excited after Jamie showing the young boy how to eat better,but I cried because as parents we are in control, it is our job to think outside the box and see what is happening with our kids not make excuses or exceptions. We take the responsibility by having children to take care of them. IT IS A HARD JOB. We have our real jobs and we have family.

Would we get fired from our job if we failed at it as bad as some are failing at taking care of their kids health?

The school, yes, holds a role in the health of the children, but those 1st graders were clueless about the tomato not because of their teacher, they dont see tomatoes at home! I am a little sensitive because I have an awesome mom and sister that are teachers. My mom has taught 1st graders more than half of her 30 year career. She lets their parents know the pop in their lunch isn’t the best or the bags of chips.Β  Would the kids even eat their lunch if it werent chicken nuggets or pizza, I hope to see in future episodes. But if they do not eat that lunch will they get any other food when they go home?

I cry because my heart goes out to those who just do not know any better. I believe we have to dig deeper as adults to get out of the box. Our children are asking for guidance and help, Let us help them and keep them well, fuel them with good food and love!

btw.. I cry at Undercover Boss too, I just like the underdog getting a leg up!

a2a_linkname=”The View From My End”;a2a_linkurl=”http://www.sarahimoore.com”;

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: family, life

Author:Sarah Moore

www.SarahMooreHealth.com

Sign Up Here!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

7 Comments on “Made me cry….”

  1. April 2, 2010 at 12:29 pm #

    I thought it was going to be some tedious old post, but it really compensated for my time. I am going to post a link to this page on my weblog. I am certain my readers are going to find that very valuable.

    • April 8, 2010 at 3:02 pm #

      THANK YOU Sorry about getting back to you late, all my comments were in spam. Thanks again

  2. April 3, 2010 at 11:22 am #

    Great read bro. Looking forward to more of the same stuff. Already bookmarked. πŸ™‚

    • April 8, 2010 at 3:01 pm #

      Thanks for the comment, sorry all my stuff was going to spam πŸ™‚

  3. April 10, 2010 at 9:13 am #

    I’m watching Food Revolution, too, with high hopes I’ll learn something about how to influence change. I agree parents are key in the process. It’s great to watch Jamie Oliver being a cheerleader and investing time in getting to know people. I’ve watched the principal of the elementary school get involved in walking around to interact with the kids while they eat, sometimes teaching them knife skills, sometimes applauding when they eat the good food. Apparently he never thought of doing this before! So often having a “personal coach” makes all the difference.

    • April 10, 2010 at 9:19 am #

      It makes a huge difference. Kids want to be taught and led, its unfortunate some teachers our just there because its a job, not because its a passion. Thanks for sharing!

  4. April 13, 2010 at 2:15 am #

    Interesting summary. This concept really needs further discussion. More community must come forward and be heard. Next time

Leave a Reply

