Vibram Five Fingers and Breastfeeding

What could the two possibly have in common? I haven’t wrote for almost a month and what I have realized about my health and my body in this last month has been scary, interesting and great.

First my Vibram 5 fingers. I had wanted a pair of five fingers since I met with john elder who owns and changes lives at Egoscue Nashville. My first thought was how amazingly cool they looked, secondly I thought about the yoga sandals I wear that separate each toe and how great they are for balancing your feet and then your body. So I began to price and research. Well I have been wearing mine for a month straight now. And besides the smell they have because I need to wash them,I have noticed a few things.
I choose to do a lot of what I do as a preventative measure. Even though I am preventing I know I am also correcting due to normal “wear and tear” that happens to our body, before we ‘new better’. Well as I wore the 5 fingers my right pinkie toe began to hurt. I ask John and he said that’s a good sign you are beginning to rebalance the feet. Only people like us look at pain as a good thing :). I then began to have almost 2 weeks later a pain on my left side pinkie toe when I took the shoes off to lay in the sauna. I also looked down and realized my toe look bruised and was red. The pain went away when I put my 5 fingers on, and is now gone all together. I also noticed my glute muscles had begun to be sore, which lasted a day. I was liking what I was feeling and I just loved the shoes! My next goal is to get another pair, I may go for the Performa which are similar to the classic but leather. I am continuing to wear my classics, they just seem to work and go with what I need for everyday.

Now onto Breastfeeding. I chose to breastfeed my daughter addison until 18 months, she is now almost 3. We began giving her baby food, fruits and veggies at about 7-8 months and she took them like a champ. Still likes baby peas?? Well Charlie my now 8 month old is definitely not on the same path, they say boys are different! Well I have been busier than I have ever been with kids. Starting a new office, having two kids, home husband etc. Well I began to start getting dizzy and some minor headaches. Well my first thing was to go into self diagnosis. How could I have headaches, maybe I haven’t had enough water. I have taken all my vitamins, I am not getting enough sleep but…. and on and on. Well the on and on is what gets you in trouble and only makes it worse. Well as I am going through wondering what is wrong with me, I never think that my son who is 8 months, 18 lbs and 29 inches is still only eating from me! Why didn’t’ I take this into better consideration? My body was feeding charlie and then what was left over was for me and I wasn’t getting much. I realized this when I went one day not nursing from 2-8pm and i felt like a million bucks! So now what, just give him baby food? Good luck he wants to spit it out have nothing to do with it.  So we began this week feeding him through a medicine syringe. It is going ok and I am feeling better.

What it has shown me is to listen. Listen to my body and what it is telling me and how i feel don’t dismiss it, but DO NOT over think it.  Our body can get out of balance that is life, but if we work to correct it and seek out the best advice and care we will be fine. What do you worry about to much that manifests into something worse?

Categories: Health Education, life

Author:Sarah Moore

www.SarahMooreHealth.com

Sign Up Here!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

5 Comments on “Vibram Five Fingers and Breastfeeding”

  1. May 21, 2010 at 11:11 am #

    I think Charlie is a very smart little boy to want to stay on the breast feeding as long as he can 🙂

    Good info Sarah!!

  2. Emily Penrod
    May 21, 2010 at 12:56 pm #

    Sarah,
    I have nursed all four of mine, and have noticed since having Tristan, that my boys are slower to eat baby food. It does tax the body but the benefits are great. It is awesome that you share this information with us.

    • May 21, 2010 at 2:18 pm #

      You are welcome, and I think it is awesome you have nursed all 4 it takes a lot of time and energy for sure, but the rewards are beyond themselves! I hope you are feeling great!

  3. June 5, 2010 at 2:09 pm #

    I love my VFF’s… I can’t comment on the other.

Leave a Reply

