Adventures in Raw Superfood Brownies

So I received a free sample of raw cocoa butter and raw cocoa from Sunfood. Score free raw Superfood, now what to do with it.Β  So I thought I would do a version of The Wannabe Chef, Evan’s chocolate raw brownies.
The more I know about Superfoods the better, Acai,Cocoa,Bee Pollen,Maca, I wish I had them all in my backyard or that I owned Sunfood and had it at my disposal. At any rate I will add them into my life as I can.
I am not much of a cook or uncooker. I like to and I think I’m a good cook just having the time to plan a great meal. We do eat a lot at home and I hope to be mostly raw soon. I admire all the food bloggers and their amazing pics, so here is my attempt… πŸ™‚

So onto the brownies…..

image

Samples from Sunfood Twitter win!

Brownies

1/2 c raw unsalted sunflower seeds
1/4 c flax seeds
1 c dates.(soaked a couple hours)
5 tablespoons raw organic Sunfood cocoa powder
3 tablespoons pure maple syrup

Topping (cheesecake)
1 cup raw cashews soaked a few hours
1/4 c maple syrup
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
The .08 oz sample sunfood raw cocoa butter

For the brownies process the sunflower and flax seeds till like flour but not butter. Set aside. Process dates,maple syrup,and cocoa powder, add in the seeds after blended.

image

flax and sunflower seeds and soaked cashews before processing

image

brownie mixture before stiring in flax and sunflower seeds

Cheesecake
Blend all ingredients.

image

Cashews, maple syrup, cocoa butter blended YUM

As you can see I didn’t have the best pan Bt use anything you want. I spread the chocolate mix on the bottom and the cashew blend on top but I am sure the reverse would be fine also.

image

I needed bigger samples to fill my pan πŸ™‚

I liked the taste best at room temp but I kept it in the fridge when I wasn’t eating it. If you do make these on your own I believe you will like them. Just make sure if you haven’t worked with dates to blend well and make sure you so not have any pits of course!

image

Yummy Yummy finished product

Let me know how it tastes πŸ˜‰

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: recipes

Author:Sarah Moore

www.SarahMooreHealth.com

Sign Up Here!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “Adventures in Raw Superfood Brownies”

  1. March 7, 2011 at 11:19 am #

    Glad I stumbled across this. Those look so good. I have always had a hard time find cocoa butter. I will check out the link to sunfood.

    • March 7, 2011 at 11:22 am #

      Cool, thank you. Follow them on Twitter too, u maybe can snag a free sample πŸ˜‰

  2. March 7, 2011 at 2:31 pm #

    wow! you are awesome! I like homemade brownies because they have less sugar and oil compared to those sold by stores.
    For more snack recipes, you can check at:
    http://www.fourgreensteps.com/community/recipes
    Hope you can find recipes that excite you !

    • March 12, 2011 at 9:04 am #

      Anthony let me know if u make them and how they taste

Leave a Reply

