FFF Kale

O Kale how I love thee and you have only been in my life for a while. In my post about doing what are parents did, well that is why I never had kale, I had never eaten it growing up. So I thought it looked like a rough green plant. Didn’t think it seemed great in a salad, kinda tough. Didn’t think I wanted to steam it or cook it, it reminded me to much of collard greens which I do not have a good memory of from childhood ( get sick last thing you eat doesn’t’ seem good anymore) Now I can’t get enough of it, I mostly eat it raw, with olive oil rubbed on the leaves.  You can also bake it and make kale chips which I know a lot of people do.

So why is kale so awesome.  Well it is one of the most nutrient dense foods you can find. It packs an amazing punch of  Vitamin K, A , C and Magnesium . Along with being a wonderful source of Fiber. There are many varieties of kale. You will find mostly green and red kale easily available in Tennessee.

I prefer green kale when making the raw salad. Kale originated in Asia and was an important food in early European food ways. It is a member of the cabbage family, along with my lovely collard greens. It is very easy to grow, and since planting season is beginning, go and get some seeds and plant away, if you are not someone that is a planter the Farmers Markets are loaded with Kale. You will not be disappointed, and neither will your body, it is SOOO good for you!

Kale Chips

Kale

Olive Oil

Sea Salt

Easy

Rub leaves, once removed from stems, with olive oil, place on a cookie sheet Salt before or after  place in oven heated to 335, for about 20 min I flip at about 10 min.  Great food for kids, my charlie ( 18 mo) loves them.

Tags: , , ,

Categories: FFF Favorite Food Friday, recipes

Author:Sarah Moore

www.SarahMooreHealth.com

Sign Up Here!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “FFF Kale”

  1. Recipe Chefs
    March 26, 2011 at 11:26 pm #

    I love food, and I really enjoy reading your blog very much thank you for sharing this post.

  2. Crystal Lewis
    March 27, 2011 at 6:23 pm #

    Hmm, the kale farmers must be uping their marketing! LOL The other clean eating blog I’ve been reading did a post on making Kale chips too this week! If its coming into season, that’s proably why more folks are exploring it. Things are alwasy cheeper when in season. Only probably in Guam, they dont really grow much of anything, no farmers markets here. 😦 But if you want some fresh coconut water, its in ready supply. Just bring your own machete. hehe
    I’ll have to look the next trip to the commissary and see if they carry Kale…

    • March 30, 2011 at 3:19 pm #

      How about we trade houses for a month and I can have all the coconut water and you can take over the farmers market! I would love to visit!!!

      • Crystal Lewis
        April 3, 2011 at 5:03 pm #

        Yep they have some kale, but wow its not cheap! Come on over Sarah, coach tickets are ONLY about $1,700 each! But you would have a free place to crash! 😉

        So if you need some blog suggestions, I would LOVE some more smoothie ideas!!

Leave a Reply

