Im gonna go crazy!

well maybe I am already there, who knows 🙂 But as a mom that is trying to grow a business with two kids under the age of 5, I feel it some days more than other. Do I have sitter  or not, can we afford the sitter for as long as we need them is my time away productive time, and then you feel guilty for even being away from them. Do we take them to run errands or not. And are they gonna be the nice sweet kids, or the kids that are tugging at our shirts and asking over and over again for what you have already said No to 10xs. Can you tell I just had one of those days? You get back in your car take a deep breath and say, I am not gonna go crazy today! Why do I do this to myself?

But now that I am back home and both children are asleep I go over again all the great advice I get from friends and clients, that I need to listen and apply more often. I am planting seeds that will pay off. My kids are with me and do appreciate any time they get even if it is singing silly songs in the car in between stops to drop off business cards. Would I want them at daycare all day? No. Give myself credit for accomplishments I make. I do not do this I go go go and do not stop and relish in the cool things I have accomplished. Slow down, somethings take time and do not happen over night… darn really ? 🙂

So to any of you mothers out there that think you are going crazy keeping the house clean, your hubby happy, the kids out of time out, and also making your passion of a business happen, I give you this advice as I try to use it myself.

  • Have you time! Celebrate what you have done, even if it is a glass of red  cause you successfully cleaned the house while two kids were running inside and out and dropping toys here and there.
  • Close the computer, and know you did what you could do for the day feel your success and be glad you go to shut down on your own with out a boss telling you it was closing time
  • pick your battles.  IS time better served taking them to the sitter for an hour so you can zip in and zip out and still not pull your hair out and get sweaty before you second stop. YES.. so spend the $10.

What do you do to chill and not go crazy??

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: life, Mommy stuff

Author:Sarah Moore

www.SarahMooreHealth.com

Sign Up Here!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “Im gonna go crazy!”

  1. katie
    April 14, 2011 at 2:59 pm #

    drink an apple martini. 😉

    • April 14, 2011 at 3:12 pm #

      If I only had the ingredients. Bt I do have “skinny girl” 😉

  2. Crystal Lewis
    April 14, 2011 at 4:50 pm #

    I am having one of those weeks too! Even though I am “just” a Senior Admin Assitant, I’m the only non Engineer in my office, and I work for the Vice President and Assocaite Vice President in a start up office, with a short budget. So its crazy to think that “just the admin gal” needs to take work home with me! I fight it, but some times I do have to. I end up being the marketing director, the recruiter, the secretary, the accountant, all rolled into one. And this isn’t just any job, this is an important stepping stone to a sucessful career. I need to be good at this for my career and for my sanity!!
    I also have a 2 and 4 year old, who are in day care for about 8-9 hrs every day. The day care is great, and my kids love going. But when I have weeks like this, I can not shake the guilt! I come to work at 8 and eat lunch at my desk so I can leave at 4 (when we aren’t on any deadlines) but this week I haven’t been getting off till after 5, putting me home at 6. Thankfully my husband cooks, so dinner is waiting, and we sit down togeather. But its never that fun relaxing dinner you see on the TV, remember my kids are 2 and 4. So then begins the extensive bed time routine, baths (which they no longer take togeather at my sons request), lotion, jammies, teeth, books, night light, lullaby, bed, then 2 more trips to the potty, night light again, and bed again. By the time they are finally settled, I could care less if the laundry is pilled to the ceiling or the dishes are covering the counter. But now I have decide how to spend my 1.5 hrs. Do I run or read for me, clean like a good mom, or spend time with husband like a good wife, or spend time with God like a good Christian?? UGH!! I need more hours!! I’m not good at functioning with less than 7 hours of sleep, so I really try to get into bed on time.

    So what do I do to keep from going over the edge? Yes that was the question!! 🙂
    -Dont give up on dinner! If we keep at this, some day we will have that awesome sit down dinner that you see on TV, it may take 5 to 10 more years, but it’ll happen!
    -Always try to talk at dinner, ask the kids what they learned at day care or pre-school. Try to at least ask the hubby what happened at work. (even though I usually only get half the story because the kids are so distracting)
    -try to spend that good quality play time with the kids when I have the chance. Even if its just tickle time for 5 min after bath.
    -forget the house! I’m no Good House Keeper wife, I’m sure but if there are clean clothes to wear, be happy! The house can wait. This is why mine is usually a mess, its at the bottom of the list.
    -do something for myself a few times a week, and spend quality time with my husband a few times a week. Its all about the balance, I gotta have it. Still working on not feeling guilty when I’m running and the house is wreck, but I need to run some times!!
    -Do NOT work on the weekends unless expresses recommended by my boss, or its deadlines next week, and I’m not ready. But when at all possible, it can wait till Monday!

    Now if anyone has a CURE for the GUILT I still feel when I miss a school event, forget to do that project with Aedan until the last min and throw something togeather, or have to get a babysitter on the weekends even though they have been in day care all week, because the husband and I can’t finish a converstation with them around and need to catch dinner and a movie, PLEASE SHARE! lol

    • April 14, 2011 at 5:04 pm #

      Wow sounds like u r a business owner w o really being an owner. I was exhausted just after reading 😉 my kids are about to be 2 and 4 in Sept.
      Sounds like u r doing a great job.. I don’t know if the guilt ever fully goes away Bt it helps when I give myself some credit and look at the big picture if that makes sense at the end of the day I know they are loved and their dad and I love each other, that is huge!

Leave a Reply

