Rocking a Gelatinous Drink

20120405-104323.jpgChia seeds so yummy! Have you ever used them? They are high in Omega’s and when they are gelled they become a wonderful gelatinous fiber, that works as an intestinal scrubber. Chia seeds also do not contain any estrogen like flax seeds. They are such a wonderful addition to your diet.
The drink I am gonna tell you about I adapted from a new drink at Whole Foods, called Mamma Chia. When you drink it is kinda like drinking a runny version of jello. If you are texture funny then you might not enjoy it. They have various flavors and I have liked each one I have tried. Only problem I see is they are almost $4 for a 16 oz. So I have been on a mission to make my own.
My recipe is not perfected, but I want you to start drinking it so Im gonna give you what I know now. 🙂 You need chia seeds, and then your flavored base. I use a loose leaf pom green tea that I make. I am sure you can use any herbal tea. Make the tea a little strong.

2-3 Table spoons of Chia Seeds

20120405-104347.jpg
1/4-1/2 cup of water
Base drink

Take Chia seeds and add the water to them, stir and allow to sit about 3-4 minutes, stirring occasionally. Once you can tell they are starting to have a gel around the seed, then add your base to the rest of the glass, stir and drink.
Some things I am not sure about it since I have not played enough with the drink. When you drink Mama Chia, the whole drink stays very gelatin like, so you may need more seeds. I also know that it has been bottled for a while before we would purchase, I am sure that makes a difference. I am usually drinking mine with in hours after making it. When I take it to work I make it in a used GT Kombucha glass bottle and it makes a nice addition to my day.
let me know if you try it and how it turns out

Tags: , , ,

Categories: recipes

Author:Sarah Moore

www.SarahMooreHealth.com

Sign Up Here!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

