I Squashed Spaghetti with this Meal

Ok, I know spaghetti squash is nothing new. Low Carb/ No carb fanatics have been eating it for years. It’s easy to make, looks just like grain based pasta and pairs well with almost anything.
Sometimes I forget about certain foods or maybe when they were introduced to me I didn’t really care.
Here’s the scoop on this real food gem:
A winter squash
High in folic acid
High in beta carotene
Low in calories
Loads of potassium and Vitamin A
Now you are sold, here’s how you cook it

20130821-133944.jpg
Pre heat oven 375 degrees. Cut squash length wise and remove the seeds inside. ( if you are gardener save your seeds to grow your own). I rubbed coconut oil, sea salt and fresh ground pepper on the inside of each squash. Place the squash face down on oven pan with the foil underneath. Cook for 45 min, checking around 30 mins if your stove cooks fast.

20130821-134048.jpg
What I added in: I sautéed with balsamic, tsp honey and sea salt some veggies. All I had on hand, tomatoes and red onion paired well. Once my squash was finished I scooped it out mixed it in with my veggies in the sauté pan and then placed it back inside the shell.

20130821-134232.jpg
This is a great way to serve it when having guests, it makes for a great presentation. I paired it with a mixed greens salad with cilantro and rubbed with avocado.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: recipes

Author:Sarah Moore

www.SarahMooreHealth.com

Sign Up Here!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

